Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Educational access scheme (EAS)


What is E​AS?

QTAC’s  application for education access scheme  is one of the ways in which tertiary institutions help applicants who have experienced difficult circumstances that have negatively impacted on their studies. The five categories of EAS are: Financial hardship, Home environment and responsibilities, English language difficulty, Personal illness and Disability and Educational disruption.

If you have been disadvantaged in your education you may receive bonus ranks to make you more competitive for the course of your choice. You must still meet the minimum entry requirements (pre-requisites etc.) for your preferred courses. If you are eligible under the EAS category Financial Hardship, you may also attract additional assistance from institutions, including scholarships or bursaries.

You are encouraged to seek assistance if you have experienced circumstances that have made it difficult for you to achieve your full potential. EAS is designed to make the tertiary admissions system fairer for all applicants.

How to ap​ply

When you complete your QTAC application online, you will be directed to select as many of the five EAS categories as are applicable to your situation. At the end of the QTAC application, a coversheet can be printed for relevant EAS categories that you nominated. This cover sheet will detail the specific documents that you need to provide to QTAC for the EAS category.


You must provide documents to support your application by the due date (usually mid December for January offer round). Visit the QTAC Website​​ for information on the documentation required for each category. ​