Summer Carnivals Wrap 2016

​VPSHS Swim Team 2016
Victoria Point State High School’s annual swimming carnival took place on Friday the 6th of February at Cleveland Aquatic Centre. Many staff and students were in the right carnival mood, with amazing costumes and lots of team spirit. The day’s competition was fierce in the pool with a variety of strong participants in each age group. It was also great to see the boisterous encouragement from all the team cheer squads! In the end, Sands House were too strong, claiming the shield as the Champion Swimming House of 2016, with Heinemann finishing in second place just in front of Master in third and Benfer in fourth. Congratulations also to this year’s Swimming Age Champions, who were Kirralee Swanson (12 girls), Dylan Mottershead (12 boys), Sarah Parkes (13 girls), Keeara Tierney (13 girls), Cody Torkington (13 boys), Kara-Shae Elers (14 girls), Lindsay Jefferies (14 boys), Candace Torkington (15 girls), Ethan Green (15 boys), Ulani Abbott (16 girls), Luke Harvey (16 boys), Nicole Smith (Open girls) and Ben Smit (Open boys). We would be calling on these students to once again make a splash, this time in representation of their school at the District Swimming Carnival. 

On Thursday 18 February, a dedicated group of students travelled to Sleemans Aquatic Centre to represent VPSHS in the annual Bayside Swimming Carnival. Many of our students went above and beyond the call, often swimming extra events for the sake of our school team. Due to such courageous efforts, Victoria Point State High School, like last year, finished 7th out of 13 schools (including local private schools), our equal best placing in the last 8 years. Special congratulations to our Bayside representatives Mako Byrne, Lindsay Jefferies and Cody Torkington and our Metropolitan East representatives Kara-Shae Elers, Matthew Devlin, Candace Torkington and Luke Harvey. With the swimming season over, it was time to hit the track for Cross Country.

After a fantastic day of mini-games fun and serious cross country race competition, which brought an end to a busy Term 1, we can acknowledge and congratulate Heinemann House as deserved Cross Country and Mini-Games Champions for 2016. It was an extremely close battle, with Benfer House just missing out on top spot. Well done to Heinemann! It is also important to recognise the outstanding individual performances of our race winners and crowned Age Champions. Our 2016 Cross Country Age Champions are Jayden Manihera (12 boys), Gabrielle Martin (12 girls), Liam Jones (13 boys), Sarah Parkes (13 girls), Connor Duffy (14 boys), Des’Ree Barnes (14 girls), Corbin Gibbons (15 boys), Katelin Parkes (15 girls), Luke Harvey (16 boys), Elise Chapman (16 girls), Cody Fell (Open boys) and Jade Nowell (Open girls). Next stop was the District Cross Country Carnival to be held in Term 2.

On Thursday 21 April, our school’s most dedicated and talented cross country runners went away to the District Carnival. It was a fun and enjoyable day in great conditions. All competitors put in their best efforts, doing themselves and the school proud. Particular congratulations must go to Luke Harvey (Yr 11), Elise Chapman (Yr 11) and Connor Duffy (Yr 9) who qualified for the Bayside District Team. Well done to all students who participated on the day and we also wish Luke, Elise and Connor the best of luck at the upcoming Met East Cross Country Carnival.

Bring on athletics!

Back to news feed
Last reviewed 19 December 2019
Last updated 19 December 2019